When I bought my house at the age of 23, I had no idea what my life would look like seven years later. Would I be married? Would I have kids? Would I have a masters degree? Would I be working at my dream job? Would I still live in the United States? Would I have cancer?

Fast forward seven years. I’m a few weeks away from being a wife and a mom, I have half a masters degree, I’m getting ready to leave a job that’s been a surprisingly good fit for me, I’m still living in the Friendly City, and as far as I know, I don’t have any life-threatening illnesses.

I’m also no longer a homeowner. This afternoon I took some time off work and headed to a law office downtown. The office is only a few blocks from my house, and I’ve driven past the building a bazillion times, but I had never been inside until today. One hour and eight signatures later, I no longer owned property in the Commonwealth of Virginia.

What better way to celebrate the first day of summer than to check off the first thing on my Summer To-Do List?! Sell my house… CHECK!

But don’t worry, I’m not going to be homeless for the next month. I’m technically considered a “guest” of the buyers, even though they’re staying right where they are, and I will be living in my house rent-free (and mortgage-free!) until I get married and move to Pennsylvania.

So today has been a bittersweet day. I’m definitely very excited to be marrying Tim, and I’m looking forward to so many aspects of getting settled in the area where I’ve been spending half my weekends, but I’d be lying if I said I’m eager to leave the town that I’ve called home for the past ten years. It was totally my choice, of course, and when I considered the pros and cons way back when, it was a no-brainer. And… when I pick up that big ol’ equity check tomorrow and deposit it in my bank account, it’s going to seem a lot more sweet than bitter. 😉

And pretty soon, I’ll be a homeowner again. But instead of living alone in a house that’s smack up next to my neighbor’s house, I’ll be living with my husband and kids at the end of a long, lovely driveway.

Seven years ago, I didn’t know what my life would look like in 2010, but now I do. And I love it.