When I was cleaning up some files and backing up my computer the other day, I was reminded that I haven’t yet posted any photos of the dress I made for Magen to wear on Easter. So… here it is.

I bought the pattern for a dollar when Joann Fabric & Crafts was having a big sale. It’s McCall’s M5574, and it was quite easy. (No armholes! No sleeves! No zipper!) The fabric is a cotton sateen by Lisette, which I had just heard about for the first time a few days before I bought the fabric. I don’t really know anything about designers of fabric, so I was quite surprised to recognize a name! You can see a closeup shot of the fabric way back in this post about our Easter basket treasure hunt.

At the time I bought the fabric, I wasn’t thinking about how tricky it would be to get the chevrons to at least line up a little bit. It’s not perfect, but I was content with the outcome.

Here are a few shots of the front and back of the dress:

I have enough fabric left over to make a matching dress for Magen’s American Girl doll, but somehow I haven’t gotten around to that yet. Hopefully soon!